Harvard Law School Elects New Student Government | News

Second year Harvard Law School students Déborah V. Aléxis and John M. Fossum were elected student body co-presidents and will lead the Harvard Law School Student Government for the 2024-2025 academic year, according to a Thursday email to the HLS student body.

The HLS Student Government allocates funding to student groups, holds campus-wide events, and is “the student body’s voice” of HLS administration and faculty, according to their website, which lists wellness, diversity, and improving academics as priorities.

In addition to the co-presidents, HLS students elected new 3L, 2L, and SJD HLS Student Government representatives in uncontested races.

Isabelle M. Sohn, Felicia R. Caten-Raines, Holden W. Hopkins, and Gilbert Placeres will serve as 3L representatives; M. Hadassa Trau, Aliye Korucu, Fabrice P. Guyot-Sionnest, and Robert J. Kim will serve as 2L representatives; and Arvind Kurian Abraham will be the SJD representative.

Korucu and Kim currently serve as 1L representatives, and Caten-Raines currently serves as a 2L representative.

HLS student Patrick T. Healy will serve as Director of Student Organizations after winning the only contested race of the election against Alexander J. Friedman.

Current co-presidents Tolulope V. Alegbeleye and Swapnil Agrawal announced the results in an email Thursday afternoon, in which they wrote that they “leave with the confidence that our work will continue under the leadership of our wonderful peers.”

Caten-Raines wrote in an email to The Crimson that “the events of this year created anxiety and fear for many students.”

Caten-Raines wrote that she hopes the HLS Student Government “can help our student community heal” through “more robust avenues for students to share their concerns in surveys, meetings with representatives, and anonymous suggestion boxes.”

—Staff writer S. Mac Healey can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on X @MacHealey.